Cotonou Agreement Parties

The Cotonou Agreement is a treaty signed between the European Union (EU) and the African, Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP) states in 2000. The agreement replaced the previous Lomé Convention and was designed to strengthen the relations between the EU and ACP states by promoting economic, political, and cultural cooperation.

The Cotonou Agreement has been signed by 79 ACP states and the EU. These parties are divided into six regions:

1. West Africa

2. Central Africa

3. Eastern Africa

4. Southern Africa

5. Caribbean

6. Pacific

The West African region comprises Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d`Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

The Central African region includes Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon.

The Eastern African region comprises Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

The Southern African region includes Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The Caribbean region comprises Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The Pacific region includes Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

The Cotonou Agreement has had a significant impact on the cooperation between the EU and ACP states. It has facilitated the exchange of expertise, resources, and knowledge, promoting sustainable development and poverty reduction. It has also supported regional integration, peace, and security.

In conclusion, the Cotonou Agreement is a crucial treaty that has strengthened the relations between the EU and ACP states. The agreement has been signed by 79 parties, divided into six regions: West Africa, Central Africa, Eastern Africa, Southern Africa, Caribbean, and Pacific. The agreement has had a significant impact on the cooperation between the EU and ACP states, promoting sustainable development, regional integration, and peace and security.